UPDATE! RØDE iXY Stereo Microphone for iPhone, iPad & iPod touch @rodemics

UPDATE: So today I took the Rode iXY and the Tascam iM2 and iM2X into one of our radio voiceover booths to record some samples. This is not a scientific experiment by any means but if you can excuse the occasional audio pop ( I had no pop-shields for the Tascam devices so didnt use the one that comes with the iXY either)  it is as fair a comparison as I can make under relatively controlled circumstances.

Here are the details: I used the Rode Rec App for ALL RECORDINGS and the sample rate was a constant 44000Hz with the exception of the last (as stated at 96KHz)

I tried to keep the phone in the same position and the same distance from my mouth for all these recordings- as shown. The iPhone was switched to Airplane mode to avoid any interference. Gain (within the Rode App was constant accross all mics except for the iPhone internal which I state in the recording, however both Tascams have an audio dial on the device itself, I tried to set these both around 75%- 80%.)

Photo 03-04-2013 11 40 51

Photo 03-04-2013 11 33 39 Photo 03-04-2013 11 37 20

What do you think? Comments welcome.

Final point the Rode iXY retails for around €179 which includes a protective case, and windscreen. The Tascam Im2 retails at around €75  and the iM2X at around  €77 with no additional accessories included.

Original Post >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

RØDE iXY Stereo Microphone for iPhone, iPad & iPod touch.

I previously blogged about the Rode iXY after it was announced at CES and have been waiting to get my hands on one since. Last week I was at the #roodagen conference in the Netherlands delivering a presentation on Mobile Journalism with Karol Cioma from Circom Regional. I had included the iXY in the presentation and mentioned that I was waiting to get one and a member of the audience said he had ordered one direct from Rode and had it with him if I wanted to see it.

So at the end of the presentation, as is now customary, I invited the audience up to see and play with all the accessories I have amassed for use with the iPhone and iPad, and I finally got my hands on the iXY.

Photo 13-03-2013 13 14 35 (1)

Photo 13-03-2013 14 14 09 (1)

First impressions:

To begin with can I say I have several Rode Mics and have always been impressed with the build quality (with the sole exception being the fidgety battery cover on the VideoMicPro). Anyway the initial product images certainly made it look impressive but until I held it in my hand I really couldn’t appreciate the absolutely beautiful build quality.

I have tested lots, and I mean LOTS,  of iPhone audio accessories, Tascam, IKMultimedia, Fostex, etc etc but I have never picked up a product and immediatley went – Oh Damn this feels good – not until the iXY. The brushed aluminium is beautifully finished, the weight suggests a quality product and the clever accessories (Windshield and Pocketpack) are all of really great quality.

Photo 13-03-2013 12 07 04 (1)

I downloaded the Rode Rec App (€5.49 on the App store) only to realise it is in fact a customised version of the Fire2 App from Audiofile (which by the way is the same price on the App Store).

I should point out that there is also a free version of the Rode Rec App (which has some limitations imposed that can be removed via an in-App purchase). Im familiar with FiRe 2 because Audifile had previously licensed a limited version of the App to Blue Microphones under the App name BlueFire which was Free. We had used this in RTE in the early stages of our MoJo project to record simple audio clips and FTP them back to base. This was before we opted for LuciLive as our Radio solution for iOS.

Ive ordered a RODE iXY from Thomann (€179) as they are showing in stock. The price tag is steep by comparison to some other plug-in audio accessories like the Tascam iM2x ( RRP €77) but again you simply cannot compare the two devices as the plastic build of the Tascam simply cannot compete.

Once the iXY arrives Ill take it in to one of our audio booths and do a test recording with the App which very cleverly will allow me to post directly to SoundCloud, Dropbox, FTP, iTunes sharing or Email. Ill update the post then. For more info click the image or link at the top of the post or visit http://www.ixymic.com

About vjmentor
Innovation Lead, RTÉ | VJ & MoJo (Mobile Journalism) Trainer -Circom Regional | Photographer | HDSLR shooter| Views are strictly personal, not those of my employer.

15 Responses to UPDATE! RØDE iXY Stereo Microphone for iPhone, iPad & iPod touch @rodemics

  1. Cool. Can´t wait to hear your tests !

  2. Dave says:

    Looking forward to result and would love to know how it compares with the fostex ar4i .

  3. James Tragh says:

    looking forwards to your tests, this does look like a quality product very rode NT4 inspired.
    I never had a problem with the videomic pro battery door I know many do but people should just study the manual and using their eyes to see where it needs to fit – it’s actually a great design and never falls off if it’s put on correctly.

  4. James Tragh says:

    Nice test, great speaking voice – also Rode is pronounced like Road rather than Roadie.

  5. I was interested in getting the iXY but it sounds like there is a bit of hiss on your recording. Which do you recommend and which do you still use?

    Many thanks.

  6. Rocky says:

    I have this but it doesn’t work when I use the video on the iphone. Am I doing something wrong?

    • vjmentor says:

      I haven’t tried the iXY with any Video Apps but Ill give it a shot later and post my results. Can I ask though-are you using an iPhone 4or 4s? Cheers

      • Rocky says:

        Thanks I’m using the iPhone 4S

      • vjmentor says:

        Rocky just a few more questions….
        1. What firmware version is the iXY running? (Download the free Rode Rec App to retrieve this info and update Firmware if necessary.)
        2. What version of iOS are you running?
        3. Have you inly tried the iXY with the nativev camera App or have you tried other Apps like FilMicPro also?
        4. Does the iXY work correctly with the Rode Record App- Can you set levels and record good quality audio?
        5. Sorry for this one but I have to ask… Why are you using the iXY for Video given the mics will be at 90° to your camera subject??
        Thanks

      • Rocky says:

        Thanks Glen,
        Appreciate this. I think I was given the wrong advice as I was told it would still pick up regardless of it being at 90º. I’ll read you post as I’m away from home for a few days and don’t have the ixy to answer your questions.

      • Rocky says:

        Thanks Glen I left you a comment on the other post. Much appreciated.

      • vjmentor says:

        Rocky have a look at the latest post: its just for you :)

  7. Considering purchasing this Microphone. Does it work in conjunction with the video camera on an iPhone 5s running the latest version of ios7? Or does it only work with the Rode app?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,007 other followers

