2013 in review on my Technology Blog via WordPress

Its been an incredibly busy year for me this year. Not only did I change jobs in RTE moving out of my position as Production Development Manager with the News Division into a new role as Innovation Lead in Technology but 2013 also saw a substantial growth in my training work. Within RTE I trained in excess on 100 staff to shoot and edit with their iPhone and there are more courses already planned from next week (early Jan). Externally I led 2 Mojo courses for Circom Regional the first in Santiago De Compostella in Spain in May and the second in November in Budapest. What an amazing bunch of people too – Im still quite amazed at the quality of the stories they produced, many with no former training or camera/editing experience.
20131013-114622.jpg

Circom also led to courses with NRK in Norway and the Council of Europe in Strasbourg. I spoke about Mojo at conferences in London (News:Rewired), Holland (Roos:Dagen) , and at home (Digital Future Con). This year I also worked with the Thomson Foundation in London which also brought me to Doha and working with AlJazeera which was an incredible experience. I had never been to Qatar or Turkey and it was really a wonderful opportunity to see how an international news organisation work. I also had the chance to work with an NGO for the first time: I did a 1day mojo course with Concern.

Photo 05-12-2013 13 15 31

I have been very fortunate that RTE has permitted me to take unpaid leave from my job to pursue these external training courses, it is quite remarkable to see how different organisations are approaching their mobile news gathering strategies. I also have to confess that I blogged less this year than I would have liked. Being on the road means I tend to tweet interesting links more than write up blog posts, so to those of you following the blog (with email notifications) I promise I will make more of an effort next year to keep it up to date and to post regularly. 2014 will also be the year when I finally live stream a one day Mojo course for free. I’ve been trying to organise it for some time but it has proven more difficult to get both the time and resources than I originally expected.

I hope if you emailed, commented or tweeted me that I responded to your satisfaction and if I didn’t them feel free to drop kick me in the ass. (Or not as the case may be) A special word of thanks to Richard Waghorn, CTO, RTE, Kevin Bakhurst MD RTE News & Current Affairs and Muirne Laffan MD RTE Digital for continued support and encouragement. Also Thanks to Marc Settle from BBC CoJo, Nick Garnett, BBC Radio 5 Live, Neal Augenstein, WTOP Washington, Scott Rensberger, David Dunkley Gyiamh, Michael Rosenblum, Jan Mindegaard, Charles Hodgson, John Inge Johansen NRK, Karol Cioma, Circom, Darko Flajpan HRT, Neill Barham, Conrad Mess, Ray Purser, Conor Hayes, Fran McNulty, Cian McCormack and Philip Bromwell for contributing, inspiring, debating and generally furthering the cause. :) (PS If I forgot someone – apologies)

Wishing you all a Happy New Year and may 2014 be the year when MoJo expands its reach outside the comfort some of breaking news to great visual storytelling for all.

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog….

Here’s an excerpt:

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 78,000 times in 2013. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 3 days for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

About vjmentor
Innovation Lead, RTÉ | VJ & MoJo (Mobile Journalism) Trainer -Circom Regional | Photographer | HDSLR shooter| Views are strictly personal, not those of my employer.

3 Responses to 2013 in review on my Technology Blog via WordPress

  1. Karol Cioma says:

    Busy year Glen, long may it continue. Thanks for all your good work with Circom. Happy New Year to you and the family. Karol

  2. Happy new years all guys. I am happy to see your team because generally i read your article but today i seen the image of behind of article. I want to say thanx to all of you for provide good information.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,799 other followers

