A selection (not exhaustive) of iPhone media workflows as an infographic of sorts

A selection (not exhaustive) of iPhone media workflows as an infographic of sorts

A selection of iPhone media (photo/video) workflows to remind MoJo trainees of some of the options available to them to get their finished stories off their iPhone. There are others also ;)

About vjmentor
Innovation Lead, RTÉ | VJ & MoJo (Mobile Journalism) Trainer -Circom Regional | Photographer | HDSLR shooter| Views are strictly personal, not those of my employer.

11 Responses to A selection (not exhaustive) of iPhone media workflows as an infographic of sorts

  1. Imran Azam says:

    Great info Glen. Good to sanity check how I’m going about my workflow…time to experiment and perfect.

  2. Florian says:

    Hi Glen! I just recently discovered your blog, it’s fantastic. One of the things that really bothers me when it comes to iOS mojo workflows is file transfer. Apple is making it really hard for those who are working in a multi-device and multi-platform environment. I’m planning a mojo workshop for kids and teenagers this summer and my idea was to have them go out with their phones, shoot some footage and then transfer all the different files to a tablet for post production. The tablets provided will be iPads (mini) but they’re supposed to use their own phones which will probably run Android for the most part. I still haven’t found a satisfying solution for quick & easy file transfer apart from the uploading/downloading option via the internet (Dropbox etc.). Apple devices do have Bluetooth but they’re not supporting FTP so this doesn’t work. I tried a couple of apps that do transfer via WiFi to send files between my S3mini and an iPad mini but they were either terribly slow, unstable, complicated or even all of it. Cable connection file transfer is also not possible. One might think that the solution to this could be doing the post production (basically talking about editing) on an Android device itself but as far as I know there’s only one single competitive Android video editing app (Kinemaster Pro) and this one is only available for certain devices (for instance I wasn’t able to install it on my S3 mini). The introduction of AirDrop was a step forward for iOS inter device communication but I really hope there will be solutions for better cross-platform workflows in the near future!

    Florian

    • vjmentor says:

      Hi Florian, thanks for getting in touch. Yes thats quite a challenge! I’ve only once tested an Android device (Samsung S3) with the Apple Camera connection kit via USB. You could also try moving photos to micro USB on the Android device and use an adaptor to try read the card in the iPad.

      Alternatively look to use iPod touches or iPhone4 both of which are alot cheaper? Sorry I can’t offer any other suggestions but the companies/eco systems are worlds apart and likely to stay that way for the foreseeable future!

  3. Florian says:

    Hi Glen, thanks for getting back to me so quick and thanks for your suggestions. So you used the Samsung S3 to connect to an iPad via USB with the camera connection kit? Did this work out? I tried to connect my S3 mini via USB to my iPad mini using an adapter (not the original from Apple tough) and the iPad is giving me this message: “Android. The connected device is not supported.”. I also thought about using microSD cards from Android phones to go with an adapter so one could plug this into an SD card reader for the iPad. Would be a decent way if the the card was easily accessible. But as far as my S3 mini is concerned the microSD card slot is situated inside the phone under the battery pack which would have to be removed every time. Not very convenient.

  4. Florian says:

    So I just checked out the option to move video files from Android (S3 mini / S4 Zoom) to iOS (iPad mini) via microSD, microSD-SD adapter and an SD card reader for the iPad. It worked, but it’s quite a hassle. And I’m not even talking about getting this tiny piece of plastic out of the phone. You actually have to do two things on your Android phone first to make the iPad recognize the files on the microSD: You have to rename every file so that it has 8 digits/characters (on my phone, the video files are automatically named “xxxxxxxx_xxxxxx”) and you have to move it from the subfolder “Camera” one level up to the “DCIM” folder. Only then will the file be recognized by iOS and you can import it into the camera roll. Sigh. Cross-platform file transfer without using cloud services still seems to be a huge problem, at least for video files. There are some apps that let you do photo transfer between iOS and Android but video? Nope – courtesy by Apple Sandboxing Inc.

  5. Florian says:

    It seems like I’ve finally found an app for my cross-platform file transfer troubles … the app is called “Feem Wifi” / “Feem Wifi Pro” and is available for both iOS and Android (also desktop Windows and Mac, Windows Phone coming soon). For file transfer, the app needs to be installed on both devices and the devices have to be on the same WiFi, with or without internet. Without internet, one device has to be set up as a hotspot creating a local WiFi. The app comes with a clean UI, is easy to use and – after recent updates – works great!

    • vjmentor says:

      Thats valuable to know Florian. Thanks so much for sharing. You’ve made a lot of valuable information available through your comments. If you haven’t already done so you are welcome to post a link to your Website /Blog. Cheers

  6. Florian says:

    Will do so when my blog goes online! At the moment I’m still working on the basic structure …

  7. Florian says:

    And here’s another story from my ventures into cross-platform territory … So after finally finding an app that does the job of transferring from iOS to Android and vice versa, I encountered the next problem with the video files themselves. Android to iOS works fine ( … and that was what I was looking for in the first place), iOS can handle .mp4 files created on an Android device although its native video file format is .mov. But iOS to Android creates problems because the Droid OS can’t natively handle .mov files, only .mp4. You can play back .mov on an Android device using a media player like MX Player or VLC but you can’t work with these files in an NLE (so far at least). I was thinking about a workaround by creating .mp4 files on iOS. First I couldn’t find an app (all of the camera apps I checked out didn’t have an option for .mp4 recording), then I did come across an app called “MP4 Camera”. And while the app does indeed create .mp4 files, I was not able to play them back on my Android phones. I assume that some codec incompatibility is the issue but can’t say for sure … Well, one could try to convert .mov to .mp4 with an app, but honestly, this seems like a lot of trouble to go through. Who’s to blame? Apple for not jumping on the standard .mp4 bandwagon or Google for the lack of .mov file support?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,643 other followers

