UPDATE: AR-4i Compatibility issue with iPhone 4S – Fostex News

UPDATE: 20/4/2012. According to a comment posted in response to this article the latest version of iOS5.01 has addressed the 3G/WiFi issues with the AR4i. Which means finally the Fostex is 100% compatible with the 4s. See comment below

[Good news! The IOS 5.1 has solved the problem with the Ar-4i and iPhone4S and 3G/WiFi shutting down. I updatedd yesterday and now it´s possible to make a live feed with my 4S and the Fostex Ar-4i. Last week I had to work offline and upload my clip afterwards.]

Good news! The IOS 5.1 has solved the problem with the Ar-4i and iPhone4S and 3G/WiFi shutting down. I updatedd yesterday and now it´s possible to make a live feed with my 4S and the Fostex Ar-4i. Last week I had to work offline and upload my clip afterwards.

 

 

Fostex have come clean and admitted that their are also audio issues with the Iphone 4s – namely static interference on the recorded audio. This was brought to my attention by Gamincuriex – thanks for the heads up. Ive just got my 4s so will do some tests tonight and post results tomorrow.


AR-4i Compatibility with iPhone 4S – Fostex News. Given that the iPhone4s is launched here (in Ireland) tomorrow I’m entirely pi**ed off that the AR-4i that I have been waxing lyrically about for the last month has a compatibility issue. OK the issue is not that the AR-4i and the 4s won’t work together – THEY WILL but when connected – users have reported that the 3G and WiFi signals drop off. C’mon Fostex GET IT SORTED
!

About vjmentor
Innovation Lead, RTÉ | VJ & MoJo (Mobile Journalism) Trainer -Circom Regional | Photographer | HDSLR shooter| Views are strictly personal, not those of my employer.

8 Responses to UPDATE: AR-4i Compatibility issue with iPhone 4S – Fostex News

  1. Gamincurieux says:

    This ‘3G/WiFi’ issue is not the only problem between the AR-4i and the iPhone 4S….. check out the following Youtube video:

  2. sebyrollins says:

    I confirm that i have the same problem of noise with my new iPhone 4S !

  3. DigitalNoise says:

    Confirmed with iPhone 4S, get it sorted!
    Seems like noise being generated after or during A/D converstion.
    No workaround.
    Would be a great device if it worked.

  4. Hello there, for now if you use it with the front camera it will not make noise in the recording…

    Cheers from Spain

  5. More: I downloaded the Video App FiLMiC Pro (http://www.filmicpro.com/), and if you lower the video resolution, you can record video with the Ar-4i and the back camera with no audio noise…

    Cheers

  6. Pingback: IPhone 4 fäste med ljudingångar – Fostex AR-4i | SocialVideo Production

  7. Good news! The IOS 5.1 has solved the problem with the Ar-4i and iPhone4S and 3G/WiFi shutting down. I updatedd yesterday and now it´s possible to make a live feed with my 4S and the Fostex Ar-4i. Last week I had to work offline and upload my clip afterwards.

  8. vjmentor says:

    Thanks for the update Bengt, I havent had a chance to test it with my 4s but will do so tis week. Many Thanks for the heads up. Glen

Leave a Reply

