Mojo Workshop at Circom Regional Conference in Malmö, Sweden 17th-19th May 2012

If you follow the blog then you will know that Ive spent the best part of a year experimenting with Mobile Journalism – particularly with the iPhone4. I was recently a member of the training team that delivered a two-week intensive Video Journalism course in Budapest for Circom Regional. Circom Regional is described as:

A Unique International Audiovisual Network in Europe
Promoting and developing cooperation between members (of which there are approx 180 tv stations)
Co-producing and exchanging programmes
Strengthening vocational training for journalists and technicians across Europe

I was sent on their first ever “Train the Trainer” course in BBC Bristol in 2007 where I subsequently joined a panel of technical trainers…Why am I telling you all this. While in Budapest I showed some of my research to Karol Cioma – The training manager for Circom Regional and Tony Shaughnessey – a freelance media trainer. Both were incredibly interested in the hardware and workflow I proposed which culminated in me shooting a demo video for iPhone workflow which after I had FTP’d it back to my station I subsequently posted on Vimeo. You can watch it Vodpod videos no longer available.

In the last few days Karol has contacted me to invite me to deliver a workshop on Mobile Journalism at the Circom Regional conference in Malmö, Sweden 17th-19th May 2012. I’ll keep you posted on progress but I’m hoping to live stream the workshop on the blog so even if you can’t make it you will still be able to watch and interact. I’ll follow the presentation with a live chat to answer any questions you may have – so pencil the date into your diary – I know its a long way off but time flies!

In the meantime heres my latest HiDiCam (Hidi for hideous but HD :D) assembly.

About vjmentor
Innovation Lead, RTÉ | VJ & MoJo (Mobile Journalism) Trainer -Circom Regional | Photographer | HDSLR shooter| Views are strictly personal, not those of my employer.

Leave a Reply

