Thinking of upgrading to the GoPro Hero3 and using your iPad to edit the footage-take note

***IMPORTANT UPDATE: iOS7 Supports SDXC Click to read update

ImageIf you are the lucky owner of a GoPro Hero3  (or thinking of buying one) and hoping you can edit on the iPad like you could with Hero2 ? – Be Careful – the Hero3 supports MicroSDHC and MicroSDXC, the iPad however will only read the MircoSDHC (in an adpater with the Camera Connection Kit)

Image

If you connect via a USB adapter the old “This device requires too much power pops up”

Image

I have tested this on an iPad 2 (iOS 5.1.1) using the 30pin cam connection kit and a microSD to SD adapter and also on the iPad mini (iOS 6.1) using the Lightining to 30pin adapter and the 30pin cam connection kit and a microSD to SD adapter.

Image

A few other observations: Im a huge fan of GoPro, I think what they have crammed into such a small camera is nothing short of amazing. I own a Hero2 and I love the flexibility of the WiFi backpack or if needed the the optional LCD screen. I have mentioned the GoPro Hero at nearly every MoJo course Ive done as I believe if there is one camera other than the iPhone that every Mobile journalist should have in their kit then the GoPro is it.

I got a loan of a Hero3 for this test and I am very impressed with the new smaller more streamlined form factor. The integral Wifi is a huge advantage and pairing with the GoPro App on the iPhone was very straight forward – gopro23-2However …The Hero 2 has the option to plug in an external mic on the side of the camera, it has a mini HDMI connection as well as the analogue/composite TV out port and it uses full size SD/SDHC. The Hero3 has a micro HDMI port, uses MicroSD and (the Black edition) has no optional audio in. Im also a bit dissapointed with the little pop off cover that reveals the MicroSD slot, microHDMI port and USB port- Ive already lost it twice! gopro23-1Anyway bottom line – Im going to stick with my Hero2 for the time being, maybe if/when Apple support MicroSDXC I’ll consider upgrading to the Hero3 but at least you can say you were warned about the issue!

About vjmentor
Innovation Lead, RTÉ | VJ & MoJo (Mobile Journalism) Trainer -Circom Regional | Photographer | HDSLR shooter| Views are strictly personal, not those of my employer.

26 Responses to Thinking of upgrading to the GoPro Hero3 and using your iPad to edit the footage-take note

  1. Ben Curry says:

    Hi, I was browsing for info on iPhone video accessories but spotted this. I have found that some USB accessories that need a higher power that the iPad can supply will work when connected to the iPad via a powered USB hub.

    Might be worth a try.

    • kernowcam says:

      Just found this and well confused. I have a gopro 3, ipad 4 and trying to sort transferring photos / vid from gopro, sd camera cards and compact flash. Is there a way forward. Thanks.

  2. Shawn says:

    I was having issues with my 64GB card and went out and bought a 32 hoping that would do the trick and it works great!

  3. paul says:

    I have a reasonably new panasonic smart tv with an sd card slot, im using a 64gb micro sd with adapter .but the tv will not show my 1440 resolution footage recorded on my hero3 ,its ok with the lower resolutions, can anybody help

    regards
    paul

    • vjmentor says:

      Paul,

      The post that you are commenting on refers to two different types of micro SD cards: SDHC and SDXC.

      I’m reasonably sure if its 64gb then its a micro SDXC. I bet your smart tv has the same issue as the iPads in my blog post. The Hero3 will support both types.

      All I can suggest is to try a micro SDHC card and see if that works in your tv. A firmware update to the TV might address the issue but you will have to raise that on the manufacturers support forums. Best Wishes,
      Glen

  4. jerome says:

    Hi.
    It appears that you can import GoPro files on a 64GB micro SDXC card to an iPad.

    You have to first format the card as FAT32 (which I did on my Mac’s included Disk Utility app – 3rd party app might be required on Windows to format 64GB cards as FAT32).
    You should not use the GoPro’s “Delete al”l command afterwards, since that will reformat the 64GB SDXC card as exFAT , not currently readable by iPads.

    That works with the lightning SD card adapter (and a micro SD to SD adapter of course) with both my iPad 4 and iPad mini.

    It also seems (I have not tried with real world footage) that both the 4th gen iPad and the iPad mini can read all videos up to 1440p, even the the Hero 3 Black’s highest available framerates!

    For 2.7K and 4K footage, the iPad can import it, but not read it.

  5. pawl says:

    I may not be getting the gist of this, but can’t you connect to the ipad and leave the card in the camera? (I’m looking for a micro usb male to lightning connector to try this out).

  6. Ben Priestley says:

    Has anyone tried doing this with the new GoPro app? I have imported videos straight from my Hero 3 to my IPhone without issue. Thats running on 1080p. Considering buying an IPad mini to take with me snowboarding/surfing but I’d like to be able to do my video editing on it as well as simply migrating the media files. Anyone who is already doing this or knows an app (other than IMovie) that would work please let me know.

  7. gregg scott says:

    I ran into the same problem. Upgraded from a Hero camera which I had very successfully used with an ipad 2 to edit Scuba video. The Hero3’s mini SD card caused the following transfer problems. A- The apple camera kit would not transfer direct from the GoPro. B- An adapter Mini SD to USB would not work. C- The GoPro Wireless App would only allow transfer of Low Res Videos. Solution: I bought a SanDisk Pixtor 32GB card with an adapter that looks like an SD card, The mini SD fits into it and then into the Apple SD adapter. That was what worked.
    Good Luck

  8. Kevin Clark says:

    I have been trying to suss the issue of files not uploading to a Mac. My conclusion is there are some min-SD card formatting issues I need to look in to. However, I have stumbled across the fact that if you are using a 64Gig card and if you newer files take you over 32Gig of the storage the Mac does’t recognise the new files/clips. Simply delete the older files and it all seems to start working again. I can not explain why this would happen but it seems to have fixed a really annoying problem for me.

  9. Zdenek says:

    iOS 7 supports MicroSDXC. Enjoy😉

  10. Jessica Lorenzo says:

    Thanks for this but I’m still a bit unclear. An Apple sales rep suggested I purchase the Lightning to USB Camera Adapter to upload photos from my GoPro Hero 2 to my iPad Mini. I am receiving the: “Cannot Use Device | The connected USB device requires too much power.” Would the Lightning to memory card adapter solve my issue? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    • vjmentor says:

      Hi Jessica, I will test the hero to iPad mini via lightning to usb cable to see if I can recreate the issue. I have already tested the lightning to SD cable using a microSD to SD adapter and it imported fine- remember a few things though:
      1. If you are using a microSDXC card you will need to have iOS7 on your iPad
      2. I would avoid ProTune in the gopro settings menu. Its designed to work with the free GoPro cine software on mac/pc. Im not sure the iPad will read it
      Hope that helps
      Glen

  11. Leandro says:

    where I buy cover that reveals the MicroSD slot?

  12. Emma says:

    HI there

    I’m a fairly techno clueless girlfriend who wants to buy an ipad for my boyfriend for his birthday to use (amongst other things) to edit his videos from his gopro hero 3…. I’ve got a bit lost reading through all the messages and replies…is the conclusion that you can use an ipad to do this? And if so, what size/spec is best?

    help would be greatly appreciated!

    • vjmentor says:

      Hi Emma. As long as iPad is recent version and running iOS7 (or 8) then yes your BF can use import his GoPro footage and edit it using Apps like iMovie or Pinnacle Studio. Just be warned HD video takes up a lot of space so it would be preferable to get the biggest version (32Gb/64Gb/128Gb) you can afford.

  13. Emma says:

    Awesome, thanks for the quick reply:) Would it be possible to use one of those Seagate wireless external hard drives to supplement the space?

    • vjmentor says:

      Yes if its wireless (creates its own wifi hotspot) and has it own App for iOS. Note though: the additional storage is ONLY available through the App, you have to copy content from iOS device to the HDD through the App and then delete locally on device to free up space. The new iCloud pricing model kicks in soon and should make cloud storage more appealing. Check out iStick from Hyper also: http://www.hypershop.com/HyperDrive/iStick/

      • Emma says:

        Hi there, clueless girlfriend here again…. So We have an iPad air (with good storage space) and the gopro hero 3…. What is the exact connector device that we need to get to be able to get the vids from gopro to iPad for editting? Help very very much appreciated!🙂

  14. Paloma says:

    Hello! I just got the GoPro Hero3+. I downloaded GoPro App to IOS 5.1.1 IPAD 3.
    I can get connected to internet and see the video and photo of the day from the app but when I connect to the goprowifi and try to open the app it just take like 5 seconds to close the app. I would like to know why. Thank you for your help. (and sorry for my english)🙂

Leave a Reply

