iOS7 supports SD HC and SD XC Cards – CONFIRMED

iOS7 supports SD HC and SD XC Cards - CONFIRMED

Earlier this year I wrote a blog post about an issue I discovered with the iPad Camera Connection kit and Secure Digital (SD) XC cards when trying to import videos I had shot on my GoPro camera. When I connected the MicroSDXC card using this combination

MicroSD-conxthe iPad failed to read the card, instead I got this message: contents not available,

Last month a comment was posted Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 19.30.21that suggested that with the release of iOS7 the SDXC issue had been resolved and that the card would now work with the camera connection kit into the iPad.

I have just tested it (Sorry for delay) and I can confirm that the Lightning Camera Connection cable for SD cards with a MicroSD card adapter did indeed work as did the 30pin Camera Connection kit into the 30pin to Lightning adapter. I’ve also checked the Apple support forums and SDXC is now confirmed as a supported format according to this article : http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4101 This is great news as you can now use 64Gb SD/Micro SD cards in your DSLR (if compatible) your GoPro Hero3,3+ and other cameras -giving you lots more storage.

About vjmentor
Innovation Lead, RTÉ | VJ & MoJo (Mobile Journalism) Trainer -Circom Regional | Photographer | HDSLR shooter| Views are strictly personal, not those of my employer.

Leave a Reply

