Shoulderpod Universal Smartphone Adapter/Tripod Holder Unboxing and Review

Shoulderpod_professional_smartphone_rig_expandable_concept

I noticed Shoulderpod on Twitter probably a year ago and I’ve been looking forward to getting my hands on one since. In the last few days (10-12th June) they have finally started shipping their S1 Universal Smartphone Tripod Adapter and I’ve been lucky enough to get my hands on one. So here is a quick unboxing video and initial impressions

https://vimeo.com/98027792

I’ve tested A LOT of smartphone accessories over the last three years teaching MOJO and until recently I had the Joby GripTight as my recommended Universal Tripod Adapter.

I have to credit the team of journalists who travelled over to Dublin recently from NRK Norway for MOJO training for convincing me the Joby was a great solution.

NRK-Group

The positives are its small size-particularly folded flat HOWEVER the negatives….

BpxkuTKCcAEHS7c.jpg-large

 

This particular Grip Tight was only used FOUR TIMES and the plastic mount snapped. Now I did Tweet @Joby about this and to give them credit they replied quickly and offered a replacement…

Screen Shot 2014-06-12 at 13.08.39

 

However, if you are an iPhone owner then you know exactly how fragile the iPhone is, a tripod adapter failing like the GripTight above is not a big issue (it costs about €25) BUT to replace a smashed screen is €150 which makes it a VERY EXPENSIVE accident. All this brings me back to the SHOULDERPOD.

Shoulderpod_S1_adjustable_smartphone_rig

It really does feel like a robust, quality build. I would feel a lot more confident using it on a tripod or other clamp than the Joby and the great news is the entire S1 kit you see in the video above is available for a special limited introduction price of €24.95 on the Shoulderpod website right now but be warned offer ends TODAY. From tomorrow it will be the RRP of €29.95. Still excellent value.

Shoulderpod_S1_professional_smartphone_rig_filmmaker_grip_iPhone

If I was asked is there ANY room for improvement I would have only one tiny suggestion: put a tripod mount in the top screw also. This would mean I could double mount suction clamps if using it in risky situations OR I could use an adapter like the Manfrotto 143S  Flash Shoe 1/4 Male Attachment to mount a microphone or light on Top of the holder! 

20064

About vjmentor
Innovation Lead, RTÉ | VJ & MoJo (Mobile Journalism) Trainer -Circom Regional | Photographer | HDSLR shooter| Views are strictly personal, not those of my employer.

One Response to Shoulderpod Universal Smartphone Adapter/Tripod Holder Unboxing and Review

  1. John Adams says:

    If you’d like a smartphone tripod that has the capability to adjust the shot elevation, along with being mountable to a camera tripod, and stores in your wallet, check-out Selfie Card Micro Tripod.

Leave a Reply

