Unboxing and 1st audio tests with the Sennheiser ClipMic Digital for iOS

Today I got my hands on the Sennheiser ClipMic Digital mic for iOS so I decided to shoot a quick unboxing video and then do an audio test and a video test to pitch it against the iKmultimedia iRigPro and AKG 417pp Lav which we currently use for Mobile Journalism here in RTÉ.

I have to say the build quality is excellent. The capsule is very high quality and the windscreen is a very snug fit (unlike the one with the AKG mic)

I decided to use two iPhone 5’s with the Apogee MetaRecorder App on both to test the audio performance. First in an open space (my training room) then briefly outside and then finally in one of our radio booths (sound insulated).

Lastly I tested both mic setups into FiLMic Pro to see how the audio performed in that situation.

Probably best to listen using headphones as I put both recordings into a stereo track and panned them L and R. I’m going to get some of my colleagues from radio to test the Sennheiser also, just to get their feedback (well trained ears!)

Also one final note – I was incorrect about the price of the Sennheiser ClipMic Digital, I said about €300 but I found it for €227 so quite a difference. Worth noting the iRig Pro €120 and AKG 417pp around €130 will bring them quite close cost wise.

Screen Shot 2015-06-18 at 11.39.02

About vjmentor
Innovation Lead, RTÉ | VJ & MoJo (Mobile Journalism) Trainer -Circom Regional | Photographer | HDSLR shooter| Views are strictly personal, not those of my employer.

Leave a Reply

